Distinguished Awards

2020 SACNAS Nominations Closed

SACNAS Distinguished Scientist Award

Nominee holds a PhD or other doctoral degree in a science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (STEM) research field, has a minimum of ten years of experience as a principal investigator, and is 45 years of age or older. Must be engaged in research and educational activities at the national level including, but not limited to active funded research projects or funded STEM-based education initiatives. The Distinguished Scientist will be recognized on stage at the 2019 National Diversity in STEM Conference.


2019 SACNAS Distinguished Science Award
Renato Aguilera, PhD
Professor, The University of Texas at El Paso


2019 SACNAS Distinguished Mentor Award
Robert E. Megginson, PhD
Professor, University of Michigan

SACNAS Distinguished Mentor Award

The Distinguished Mentor is selected from among the top candidates submitted in all the outstanding mentor categories listed below. The Distinguished Mentor will be recognized on stage at the 2019 National Diversity in STEM Conference. Outstanding Mentors will receive digital and multimedia (web, email, social media) recognition by SACNAS. Nominees have a sustained record of at least ten years of participating in educational and/or community outreach activities.


Past Awardees

Honoring the highest levels of excellence in mentoring and research science. 

Award Speeches

Watch Our Distinguished Award Speeches

This recognition is most significant of my career because it originates from my students and only they can say whether I was their mentor or not.
Professor Elba Serrano
2015 Distinguished Awardee


Email sarah@sacnas.org or call 1-877-SACNAS-1