Distinguished Awards

Nominations Open Now through June 18, 2023 🎉

Distinguished Awards celebrate those who live the SACNAS mission year-round through their unparalleled dedication to excellence in science, research, mentoring, and teaching. Awardees are nominated by community members, and SACNAS awards one Distinguished Scientist and one Distinguished Mentor each year. Final awardees receive funding to attend the National Diversity in STEM Conference in October and are recognized on-stage during the conference.

Nominations Open Now Through June 18, 2023!

Continue below to learn more about these awards and begin your nomination:

SACNAS Distinguished Scientist Award

Nominee holds a PhD or other doctoral degree in a science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (STEM) research field, has a minimum of ten years of experience as a principal investigator, and is 45 years of age or older. Must be engaged in research and educational activities at the national level including, but not limited to active funded research projects or funded STEM-based education initiatives. The Distinguished Scientist will be recognized during the National Diversity in STEM Conference held annually in October.

Nominate a Scientist


2022 SACNAS Distinguished Scientist Award
Otakuye Conroy-Ben, PhD
Assistant Professor, Arizona State University



2022 SACNAS Distinguished Mentor Award
Arnaldo Diaz Vazquez, PhD
Assistant Dean, Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity Affairs and Assistant Professor of Pharmacology, University of Texas Southwestern

SACNAS Distinguished Mentor Award

The Distinguished Mentor is selected from among the top candidates submitted in all the outstanding mentor categories listed below. The Distinguished Mentor will be recognized during the National Diversity in STEM Conference held annually in October. Outstanding Mentors will receive digital and multimedia (web, email, social media) recognition by SACNAS. Nominees have a sustained record of at least ten years of participating in educational and/or community outreach activities.

Nominate a Mentor

Read more about last year's awardees

Find Inspiration


Past Awardees

Honoring the highest levels of excellence in mentoring and research science. 

View Past Awards


Award Speeches

Watch Our Distinguished Award Speeches

View Speeches

Questions? Contact us.

Stay In Touch

Sacnas - Logo 1

Copyright 2022 SACNAS.

Non-Profit Website by Ironpaper